Initial Individual CPA Licensure for Washington State

Initial Individual CPA Licensure for Washington State


You have passed all four sections of the CPA
exam and are ready to become a licensed CPA in Washington State. The Washington State Board of Accountancy
will work with you on applying for your initial CPA license. In order to become an individually licensed
CPA, an applicant must first meet the 3 E’s: education, exam and experience. Passing the four-section CPA exam is just
one part of becoming licensed. If you passed the exam as a Washington Candidate,
you do not have to submit your exam scores and education to the Board. If you passed the exam in another jurisdiction,
you will need to transfer your exam scores and submit official transcripts to the Board. Applicants must have at least 150 semester
hours of education with a baccalaureate degree or higher which includes accounting and business
administration. Experience may be obtained through the practice
of public accounting and/or employment in industry or government. In certain situations, employment in academia
may also provide experience to obtain some or all of the competency requirements. Applicants must complete a minimum of 2,000
hours and a minimum of 12 months, which must be verified by a licensed CPA who holds a
license to practice public accounting for a minimum of 5 years. The experience must be obtained no more than
8 years prior to the date the Board received your license application. Applicants must complete a course covering
the complete content of the AICPA Code of Professional Conduct Course with a passing
grade of 90%. Applicants must also complete the board approved
initial course covering the Washington State Public Accountancy Act, related Board Rules,
and Board Policies with a passing grade of 90%. Once the 3 E’s of licensure are met, the
applicant will visit our website, log into My Account and create a Secure Access Washington
account to apply for a license. The link can be found on the right hand side
of our home page. The initial license application fee is $330. After completing the online application, the
applicant can either upload or submit supporting documentation regarding education and exam
requirements, experience qualifications, ethics exams and continuing professional education,
if applicable. Once your Washington State individual license
has been granted and posted in the Board’s licensee database, you can start using the
CPA to the public and the principle place of business
in which those services are provided is in Washington State. Do you still have questions about licensure,
please contact the Board directly by phone or email. We are here to help you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *